Who was the second longest serving president of the Philippines?

admin's picture

Who was the second longest serving president of the Philippines?

Fri, 07/22/2011 - 13:41

Who is Gloria Macapagal Arroyo?
Sino si Gloria Macapagal Arroyo?

No votes yet
Rod's picture

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (2001

Fri, 07/22/2011 - 13:42

Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo (2001 - 2010) was a daughter of the late President Diosdado Macapagal. A holder of a PhD in economics from the University of the Philippines, Arroyo replaced Joseph Estrada with a promise to clean the government of corrupt officials and bring down the number of poor Filipinos. She faced numerous challenges starting with the May 1 rebellion in 2001, instigated by the Estrada camp to regain the presidency.

The rebellion proved futile, as the highly politicised military and the police remained loyal to Arroyo. While she kept her post in the 2004 presidential election, accusation that she cheated her way to the presidency, would be used in an impeachment case against her. She barely survived the political turbulence in June and July 2005.

On the economic front, her administration actually made headway in promoting growth, arresting the fiscal crisis, curbing inflation amid soaring crude oil prices, and bolstering the gross international reserves.

After being a president, Gloria Arroyo won a congressional seat and became a congresswoman of Pampanga.  She was replaced as president by Benigno Aquino III on July 1, 2010.